Citizens' Advisory Council
The Citizens’ Advisory Council was formed in an effort to increase the department’s professional competence and accountability to the citizens of Richland County.  Members review and comment on citizen complaints, disciplinary actions taken against deputies and/or employees, and internal policies and procedures, and then provide the Sheriff with an objective viewpoint.

The Citizens’ Advisory Council convenes approximately four (4) times a year or as requested by the Sheriff or his designee. 
Duties of the council:

  1. Review citizens’ complaints against deputies and/or employees of the Sheriff’s Department.
  2. Review disciplinary actions against deputies and/or employees of the Sheriff’s Department.

  3. Review internal policies and procedures of the Sheriff’s Department.  The Citizens’ Advisory Council will then examine each case to determine if they feel the department’s actions are justified or unjustified.  If the Citizens’ Advisory Council determines the department’s actions are unjustified, then Internal Affairs will be requested to revisit the case.

The Citizens’ Advisory Council is comprised of a diverse cross-section of Richland County residents, to include; ministers, retired military veterans, and community leaders.  Members are appointed by the Sheriff and serve at his discretion.  Service on the council is on a voluntary basis for an indeterminate period of time.

Current Council Members:

Mr. Russel Anderson, Chairman Mr. John W. Hinks
Mr. Geoffrey Alpert             Mr. Wilbert Lewis
Dr. Raj Aluri Ms. Bryanta Maxwell
Ms. Becky Bailey Ms. Debra Moses
Ms. Queen Bonapart Mr. Fred Murphy
Mr. Freddie Brown Mr. Robert J. O’Brien (LTC)
Mr. Durham Carter Dr. Lonnie Randolph
Mr. Jaehoon Choe Ms. Alyssa L. Richardson
Dr. George Crow Mrs. Raysa Sanchez
Reverend Richard Dozier Mr. Albert J. Scott
Reverend Charles Epps Mr. Mike Sloan 
M.G. (Ret.) George Goldsmith Mr. Julio Soto-Perez
Mr. Marvin Heller Ms. Ruby Thomas


5623 Two Notch Road 
Columbia, South Carolina 29223 
(803) 576-3000 phone (803) 576-3195 fax

Copyright © 2006-16 Richland County Sheriff's Department