5623 Two Notch Road 
Columbia, South Carolina 29223 
(803) 309-1626 


 Photo Gallery

 Contact Us


SC Association of School Resource Officers

Photo Gallery


Deputy Will Gibson DARE Instructor with Overall Essay Winner- Emna Guedhami Runner UP - Juliet Gregg

Deputy Gibson, Proud Parents Mr. & Mrs Guedhami, DARE Director, Deputy Arlene Sharpe (Guest Speaker) and Emna

Emna reads essay as  proud Teacher listens intently

The Center for Knowledge-Columbia, S.C.

Deputy Gibson is proud of all his DARE Students.  He was thrilled with the essay that Emna read for the DARE students and parents at the graduation.  Emna shared an impressive essay stating what she learned in DARE class for the past 10 weeks.  Emna and her parents  were thrilled with the news that Deputy Gibson will be sending her essay to the State DARE Association to be considner it for a state award.

Mill Creek Elementary School

Sheriff Leon Lott-RCSD, Dr. Charles DeLaughter-Principal, Mr. and Mrs. Edward Olson Sr.-parents, Sofia Olson-Overall Essay Winner, D'Curtis Goodwin-Essay Winner and Deputy Jordan, DARE Instructor  (not pictured) Carlos Thomas, Essay Winner.

Deputy Jordan had her 1st DARE graduation.  She put her heart into every word that she spoke to the facility, parents and students.  Tears of love fell from many in attendance as we all could tell the close relationship that had developed between the school, the graduating 5th grade students and Deputy Jordan.  D’Curtis was a proud recipient of the title DARE Essay Winner displaying his certificates. Sofia holds the title Overall DARE Essay Winner for the school and read her essay. Sofia shared how she had used the DDMM to handle the loss of her beloved puppy earlier this year.  Sofia said she will always use her knowledge from DARE to handle situations for the rest of her life!  Her parents are so proud of their daughter.

Harbison West Elementary - Columbia, SC

Ed Davis (principal), Ms. Lamprey - Celine Steyer, Ms. Murray - Kennedy Cook, Ms. Washington- Amiyah Christopher, Ms. Edwards - Sean Johnson, Ms. Brannan- Blaine Bushman (also overall winner), Ms. Chandler- Ariana Jones, Deputy Russ Rabon, - *Ms. Stevens - David Gotz (not pictured)

Pictured above are the DARE Essay Winners and the name of each teacher that they represent.  Blaine Bushman will be the reigning 2018 Harbison West Essay winner and did read his essay today at the DARE graduation. All of the students at Harbison West are proud to be called DARE graduates.  Sr. Deputy Russ Rabon says he is honored to be their DARE Officer and he hopes that each one of his students know if they ever need him, he will be there for them. 

Essay Winners - Lake Murray Elementary School

Front row: Gracyn Beale-Salovitch, McKenzie Metts, Will Perez - Second row: Mrs. Claire Thompson-Principal, Sidney Hearne, Over-All Essay Winner-Lila Bower, Mary Bennett Pritchard, Aidan Black, Ashlyn Anderson, Deputy Todd Minemier-DARE Instructor

Lonnie B. Nelson Elementary - Columbia, S.C.

1st row: DARE Essay Winners: John Dzialo (overall winner), Aliyah Andrews, Coulter Branham, Samantha Winters-Gribble, and Maddie Roberts.  2nd  row: Deputy Arlene Sharpe, S.C. Coordinator, Capt. Ewing, SRO Division, Deputy Jamel Bradley DARE Instructor, Guest Speaker Mr. Terry Dozier, NBA-Charlotte Hornets/Educator

John Dzialo (overall winner): Deputy Bradley had a hard time making a decision for the overall winning essay; in fact he asked another DARE Instructor for input because all of them were outstanding.  John’s essay included what he had learned in DARE and how it will help him in his future.  John also stated if someone needed help that he would step-up.

Caughman Elementary – Columbia, S.C.

It was Deputy McNeill’s 1st D.A.R.E. graduation.   Anxious and with the desire to do his best, Deputy McNeill was a huge success with his principal, his students and his command staff today.    I am sure we all remember our 1st graduation wondering will I get it correct; “Will it be memorable for my school and for my students?” 

Deputy McNeill can breathe easy now and just so you know, (whispering…) Mrs. Hall your principal shared with Sheriff Lott how she, the school and the community just love you!

Deputy McNeill, Essay Winners: Aaliyah Bull, Jolie-Ann Cook, Nya Glenn, Tamia Sanders (overall winner) Sheriff Leon Lott, Guest Speaker

Jizelle Pringle and her  Montessori Class within Caughman Elementary
Deputy McNeill with a big smile on his face said, “I had one Montessori classroom within the 5th grade level.  It was a pleasure to teach these students as they developed and discovered how to be a proud DARE student.”

Deputy McNeill, Mrs. Shawn Hall, Principal, Sheriff Leon Lott, Lt. Verlon Rhodes, S.R.O. Division and Deputy Arlene Sharpe State Coordinator/Director DARE Training Center

The students had heard the encouraging words from Sheriff Lott. From their DARE Instructor, Deputy McNeill they heard encouragement, caring and expectations; it was now time to cross the stage to receive their certificates.  They each shuck the hand of all that are so proud of them and joined the millions of other student in the world as a D.A.R.E. Graduate.   Deputy McNeill’s heart was filled with pride for all of his students and yes, he has a big smile on his face!


Copyright © 2006-18 Richland County Sheriff's Department / SC DARE Training Center
DARE logo trademark and copyright 2001 by D.A.R.E. America, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.